Preparing for Professionalism: A Personal Note with Universal Connections

As I waited anxiously (or “manning the battle stations” as another student worded it) for registration to open this morning for the spring of 2012, I realized how close I am to completing my degree.

 

One more year…

 

As an English Literature Major, I’ve already experienced reading, writing, and making deductions; I’m comfortable with that.

 

However, since I just started working on my PR minor this year, I was afraid that my passion for reading and personal connections wouldn’t transfer to the PR world.

 

To my surprise, I recently read an article that confirmed my life choice entitled “Do liberal arts students make better PR pros?” on Ragan.com.

 

To all the liberal arts students that think they’ll never be able to find a job because of studying the subject they love, take heart! Have hope!

Public relations is a great profession to apply those critical thinking skills to!

 

So with a combination of:

-World Literature

-Modern Poetry

-The Comparative Epic

-PR Writing & Production

-Basic Newswriting

and an internship, I’m excited to become a well-prepared professional by December 2012.

 

PR is truly a versatile profession!

One response to “Preparing for Professionalism: A Personal Note with Universal Connections

Write Something

