Waiting on the iPad2

Keeping up with Technology

As I wait ever so patiently for my deposit to actually show up in my bank account, I’m waiting, hopefully, to break down and purchase an iPad2.

When I mentioned to the bank teller that the iPad2 was going to be a Christmas gift to myself, she looked at me perplexed, as if she had no idea what I was talking about.

As I left the bank, she yelled out, “Good luck with your iPod!”

It was at that point that I realized that she actually didn’t know what I was talking about.

The Reality of Technology

In the small town of Joelton, Tennessee, I guess bankers don’t have much use for iPads.

However, if you drives 15 minutes South to Greater Nashville, technological advances are everywhere.

How long will it take for “advanced” technology to reach small towns that have one bank, a McDonalds, a Subway, 2 Pizza Parlors, and the new Dairy Queen?

That’s one thing that has always perplexed me– new technology and an impossibly fast pace run major cities and this universe we call the Internet.

However, small towns, especially Joelton, seem to be stuck in that Southern pace.

Will this slow pace die out in a few generations?

It’s a difficult question to face, and interestingly enough, small town bankers seem more satisfied in asking:

“Now, have you gotten married yet?”

over

“What’s an iPad2?”

 


One response to “Waiting on the iPad2

  • Pam

    There’s a certain charm about small southern towns and their lack of technological knowledge. Since I live in Joelton I can vouch for that; however, I still NEED my access to internet. Asking if you have an iPad2 or if you’re married yet, well, I would be more interested in the marriage date. I adore weddings!!!

Write Something